Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Indian general election in Uttarakhand – 2019

April 11

Indian general election in Uttarakhand – 2019

Thursday, 11 April 

Lok Sabha Polls, phase 1 voting: Polling on 5 seats in Uttarakhand. The principal players in Uttarakhand’s political playground are BJP, Congress and Uttarakhand Kranti Dal.

The state of Uttarakhand came into being in the year 2000. Separated from Uttar Pradesh, it became the 22nd state of India. The state is all set for the biggest event of the year, the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The principal players in Uttarakhand’s political playground are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress. The state’s only prominent regional party is called the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD) and it will be contesting in all five seats. The ‘Hill state’ would send 5 MPs to the Lok Sabha and the voting in all the five Lok Sabha seats that include Tehri Garhwal, Garhwal, Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar, Almora and Haridwar will be conducted on April 11.

Indian general election in Uttarakhand – 2019The politics of Uttarakhand, especially the Tehri Garhwal seat, has always revolved around the Congress and the BJP. Just like the previous elections, the BJP and Congress are locked into a straight fight in all the five seats in the state. BJP had won all the five seats in 2014 and secured 56 per cent of the votes. Congress had secured 34 per cent of the votes in 2014 polls. In 2017 state elections, BJP won 57 out of 70 seats and the Congress had bagged 11 seats.

Some of the big names to look out for in Uttarakhand during the Lok Sabha elections would be BJP’s Mala Rajya Laxmi who will fight from Tehri Garhwal, Tirath Singh Rawat, Ajay Tamta, Ajay Bhatt and Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal. Big Congress names in the state include Ambrish Kumar, Pritam Singh, the former chief minister and the general secretary of AICC Harish Rawat, Pradeem Tamta and Manish Khanduri.

In Uttarakhand, Congress is banking on its local leaders whereas BJP is pinning their hopes on the magic of Narendra Modi who has held several rallies in the state over the past fortnight. PM Modi recently addressed rallies at Rudrapur and Dehradun while BJP President Amit Shah addressed rallies in Uttarkashi and Dehradun. Congress President Rahul Gandhi, on the other hand, addressed four rallies in Dehradun, Almora, Srinagar and Haridwar over the past fortnight.

Other states going to poll in the first phase of election include Andhra Pradesh (25 parliamentary constituencies), Uttar Pradesh (8), Maharashtra (7), Telangana (17), Arunachal Pradesh (2), Assam (5), Bihar (4), Chhattisgarh (1), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Manipur (1), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Odisha (4), Sikkim (1), Tripura (1), West Bengal (42), Andaman (1) and Lakshadweep (1). The result for the Lok Sabha election will be announced on May 23. (Credit : www.businesstoday.in)

How to vote
Indian general election, 2019
You can vote only if your name appears in the Voter List (also known as Electoral Roll). Voters can also find information on Polling Booths, Contesting candidates, Election Dates & Timings, Identity cards and EVM.

  • First polling official will check your name on the voter list and check your ID proof
  • Second polling official will ink your finger, give you a slip and take your signature on a register (Form 17A)
  • You will have to deposit the slip at the third polling official and show your inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth
  • Record your vote by pressing the ballot button opposite the symbol of the candidate of your choice on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM); You will hear a beep sound
  • Check the slip that appears in the transparent window of the VVPAT machine. The slip with the Candidate serial No., Name and Symbol shall be visible for 7 seconds before it drops in the sealed VVPAT box
  • You can press NOTA, None of the Above, if you don’t like any candidate; it’s the last button on the EVM
  • For more information, please see the Voter Guide on http://ecisveep.nic.in/

Mobile phones, cameras or any other gadget is not allowed inside a polling booth.

You can only vote if your name appears in the Voter List (also known as electoral roll). Verify your name on the list by either:

  • Logging on to electoralsearch.in
  • Calling the Voter Helpline 1950 (please add your STD code before dialling)
  • SMS <ECI> space <EPIC No> to 1950 (EPIC stands for Electors Photo Identity Card also commonly known as Voter ID card). Example – If your EPIC is 12345678 then sms ECI 12345678 to 1950
  • Download Voter Helpline App

Voters can visit Candidate Affidavit Portal (click here) or download the Voter Helpline App (click here) to see the list of candidates. Please note this data is updated as affidavits are filed by candidates.

  • Voters can go to electoralsearch.in or use Voter Helpline App to find their polling booth
  • Voters can call the Voter Helpline, the number is 1950 (please add your STD code before dialling)
  • For Polling station location SMS <ECIPS> space <EPIC No> to 1950

Mobile phones, cameras or any other gadget is not allowed inside a polling booth.

Voters can carry any of the recognised ID cards for polling, ‘Voter ID’ card is not compulsory:

  • EPIC (Voter ID card)
  • Passport
  • Driving License
  • Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies
  • Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office
  • PAN Card
  • Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
  • MNREGA Job Card (Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee)
  • Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
  • Pension document with photograph
  • Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs
  • Aadhaar Card

Lok Sabha elections are scheduled from 11 Apr – 23 May, 2019. Please visit electoralsearch.in to check your exact date.

  • Phase 1 – 11th Apr
  • Phase 2 – 18th April
  • Phase 3 – 23rd April
  • Phase 4 – 29th April
  • Phase 5 – 6th May
  • Phase 6 – 12th May
  • Phase 7 – 19th May

Election results will be announced on 23rd May. Please note Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim Vidhan Sabha elections will be held in parallel to Lok Sabha Elections, Please check eci.gov.in for more information

how to vote #India (Credit : google.com)

Sources include: The Election Commission of India


April 11



Leave a Comment